WiredWX Christian Hobby Weather Tools
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

WiredWX Christian Hobby Weather ToolsLog in

descriptionDirty volume!! EmptyDirty volume!!

more_horiz
hi

I wonder if you can help me. Every time i turn on my computer it comes up with "the volume is dirty" and then starts verifying all the files. Any suggestions on what i can do? the computer is a dell and its windows XP. I'm a complete novice with computers so go easy on the tech words!

Cheers

Stephen

descriptionDirty volume!! EmptyRe: Dirty volume!!

more_horiz
The problem was caused by information having been being sent and then interrupted. It would be like if you were to put a kink in a hose. This could have happened from not shutting down your computer properly.

First try this:
1)Start Menu
2)Programs
3)Accessories
4)System Tools
5)Automatic Recovery or System Restore

Unfortunately, I did some research, and you have two options. We can help you just not see the error message, or you will have to reformat your hard drive. Reformatting the hard drive will remove everything from the hard drive including any programs you have installed.

more_horiz
Thanks for the reply. Reformatting sounds a bit scary! Is it easy to do? I'm not sure I still have all the discs that I sed to install when i first got the computer. Would Dell provided them to me or do you think I'd have to pay for them? I have done sytstem recovery before. I presume i have to go back to before the problem started. Is there a way of knowing how far to go back?

maybe just getting rid of the message woudl be simpler.

Does this problem slow down the computer as mine seems very slow!

Cheers for any advice.

more_horiz
Hello, there is another solution I would like to suggest.