WiredWX Christian Hobby Weather Tools
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

WiredWX Christian Hobby Weather ToolsLog in

descriptionHad Rogue Malware. Can PC be saved? EmptyHad Rogue Malware. Can PC be saved?

more_horiz
Hi Guys and Gals, Newbie here and not real tech savy so bear with me. Heard about your site a few years ago because you were able to save a buddies computer.
So heres what I got and what happened. Dell Dimension E521, Windows XP, Norton 360?. Got a rogue Malware Window defence. It would pop window to download this fix and you couldn't do anything with computer. It was a new bug at the time and the local computer shops had never heard of it but gave some suggestions. So between Malwarebytes and another free program we were finally able to get rid of it, we think. We could now use the computer again but is really, really slow. Because of this we ended up buying a new computer because it was needed for school homework.
I would like to resurrect this computer if possible. I have the start up discs. Is it better to fix the bug or completely wipe out operating system and start over? Or just forget it and buy a new desktop?
There are a lot of pictures on there we would like to recover if possible either way.
What are your recommendations? Thanks in advance.

descriptionHad Rogue Malware. Can PC be saved? EmptyRe: Had Rogue Malware. Can PC be saved?

more_horiz
Hi, lets see what this program show.

Download OTL by OldTimer to your Desktop.

• Close all windows and double click OTL.exe
  • Click Run Scan and let the program run uninterrupted.
  • Under Extra Registry, select Use Safelist if it isn't already selected.
  • It will produce two logs for you, one will pop up - OTL.txt, the other will be saved on your Desktop - Extras.txt. Post both logs in this thread.
  • Please attach both logs.

............................................................................................