WiredWX Christian Hobby Weather Tools
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

WiredWX Christian Hobby Weather ToolsLog in

descriptionPersistent Firmware Virus? EXPERTS PLEASE - Thought I was an IT professional  EmptyPersistent Firmware Virus? EXPERTS PLEASE - Thought I was an IT professional

more_horiz
...but after over a month I have to admidt defeat. Every computer, hard drive, and piece of media I own (maybe even 3 netgear wg111's) transmits this monster.

PROBLEM:
-System integrity is continually compromised, even after extra measures like removing the HD & CMOS battery, and systematically powercycling the system so as to clear temporary memory before attempting OS installs.

DISCLAIMER:
I cannot post the logs as required, as it's not possible. I am only here via a bootable linux CD.

WHAT I KNOW:
-The administrator account gets pswd'd. (I know, my bad)
-The BIOS stays corrupt on 5 of my machines, despite my best efforts to clear all temp mem and even flash BIOS.
-The malicious code is very effective against xp, creating a slew of problems to include BSODs, power faiure, format fails, and freezes... esp during xp install.
-Low level DOD formatting often fails, to include removable media.
-Chkdsk imagines the HD is unrecoverably damaged. (SMART even predicted HD failure on one drive)
-Free DOS, KNOPPIX, and other tools fail.
-I gotta make a prosthetic Bill Gates head, and buy a huge slab of meat to smack the smug out of him.

WHAT I SUSPECT:
-I will prob throw these machines out the 2nd story window if I break.
-Mass consumption of coffee has led me to not trust my farts.

OTHER SYMPTOMS (to begin with first noticed):
-Without cycling power and trying to boot, two errors are persistant across all systems. A PXE error (exiting ROM) whether or not a cd is in... or message Operating System Not Found (unrelated to there being one or not)